Dr. Mary Bane Lackie

LITTLE ROCK – The University of Arkansas at Fort Smith’s Vice President for Academic Development is among fifty-seven emerging leaders invited to take part in the Arkansas State Chamber of Commerce’s Leadership Arkansas Class XII.

Dr. Mary Bane Lackie was announced as one of the invitees in a release earlier this week.

In February 2014, Lackie became the vice chancellor for university advancement at UAFS. She has over 25 years of experience in higher education at institutions in Louisiana, Arkansas and abroad. This includes administrative posts in Admissions, Students Affairs, Residence Life, International Programs and University Advancement.

Lackie returned home to Arkansas in 2013 to accept a position at UAFS after eight and a half years of working abroad. She worked at educational institutions in Poland, Armenia and Dubai before wrapping up her stint overseas working on two US government-funded education projects in Pakistan. On the most recent project to improve teacher education in Pakistan, she worked for Teachers College, Columbia University, one of the most prestigious graduate schools for education in the United States.

The Underwriting Sponsor for the 2017-2018 Leadership Arkansas program is The Citizens Bank of Batesville.  The Presenting Sponsor is ARcare, and Statewide Program Sponsors are Electric Cooperatives of ArkansasFarm Credit of ArkansasNucor Steel-ArkansasSouthwest Power Pool, and Walmart. The members of Class XII are:

Bootsie Ackerman, US House of Representatives Congressman Steve Womack

Allison Atkinson, Southwest EAP

Josh Baker, Simmons Bank

Catherine Bays, Museum of Discovery

Micah Beard, Citizens Bank

Matthew Boch, Dover Dixon Horne PLLC

John Bonner, Farm Bureau Mutual Insurance Company of Arkansas

Ruth Bradley Weyland, Tyson Foods, Inc.

Zac Bradley, Arkansas Farm Bureau

Rick Cazenave, Lanxess

Donald Clark, Arkansas Air National Guard

Todd Clark, University of Arkansas

Jacob Coleman, The First Tee of Central Arkansas

Ross Cranford, Cranford Co.

Alisha Curtis, Governor Asa Hutchinson

Richard Dedmon, Big River Steel

Leon Dodroe, Arkansas Air National Guard

Olin Ericksen, Mitchell Communications Group

Phillip Fletcher, The City of Hope Outreach

Bethany Gaddy, Regions Bank

Jason Gazaway, Gazaway & White Real Estate

Natalie Ghidotti, Ghidotti Communications

Austin Grinder, Mullenix & Associates

Jensyn Hallett, Heifer International

Matthew Hoffman, Miller Boskus Lack Architects

Erin Hogue, Walmart Foundation

Tamika Jenkins, Mississippi Co. Economic Development

Julie Kelso, Crafton Tull

Steven Lamm, Arkansas Economic Development Commission

Kim Lane, Conductor

Fredrick Love, Pulaski County Community Services

Meredith Lowry, Wright Lindsey & Jennings, LLLP

Chris Madison, City of Bryant

Daniel Martinez, Windstream Communications

Jeff Mascagni, Central Arkansas Water

Esperanza Massana, Arkansas Economic Development Commission

Kevin Mullen, Arkansas Game and Fish Commission

Stephanie Neipling, U of A System, Division of Agriculture

Ron Petrie, Garver, LLC

Ryan Prejean, Entergy Arkansas, Inc.

Ashley Riddle, Delta Dental of Arkansas

Lori Ross, Citizens Bank

Laurie Rushing, Trademark Real Estate Co.

Rhonda Sanders, Arkansas Foodbank

Kurt Schrock, Tyson Foods, Inc.

James Shackelford, ARcare

Robert Shields, Arkansas Electric Cooperative Corporation

Tag Short, MISO

Jeremy Sparks, Tyson Foods, Inc.

John Spencer, Signature Bank of Arkansas

Curt Stamp, Cox Communications

Jeremy Stell, Koontz Electric Company, Inc.

Alese Stroud, Corporate Insight Strategy

Scott Tollett, Ritter Communications, Inc.

Tommy Wagner, Wagner Medical Clinic

Derek Wingfield, Southwest Power Pool

The Chairwoman for Leadership Arkansas Class XII is Toni Bahn, Director of Governmental Affairs, Arkansas State Chamber of Commerce / Associated Industries of Arkansas.

Vice Co-Chairs for Leadership Arkansas Class XII are Mark Scott, Senior Communications Manager, Walmart, Inc., and Jill Dabbs, Mayor of the City of Bryant, Arkansas.

Leadership Arkansas Class XII launches its activities on Sunday, October 1 at the Winthrop Rockefeller Institute in Morrilton, Arkansas.  Other planned sessions include:

Session II:      Arkansas’s Workforce

October 26-27, 2017, Fort Smith, Arkansas

Session III:     Government & Military

November 29-30, 2017, Little Rock & Jacksonville, Arkansas

Session IV:     Agriculture & Outdoor Life

December 11-12, 2017, Stuttgart, Arkansas

Session V:      Natural Resources, Defense & Industrial Development

January 22-23, 2018, East Camden, El Dorado & Magnolia, Arkansas

Session VI:     Economic Development, Infrastructure & Education

February 26-28, 2018, West Memphis, Wilson & Blytheville, Arkansas

Session VII:    Tourism, History & Revitalization

March 29-30, 2018, Hot Springs, Arkansas

Session VIII:   Regional Development

April 24-26, 2018, Fayetteville, Springdale & Bentonville, Arkansas

Session IX:     Leadership, Planning & Graduation

May 24-25, 2018, Little Rock, Arkansas

The mission of Leadership Arkansas is to challenge, inform, inspire and engage current and future business and civic leaders to enhance the economies of – and the communities within – the state of Arkansas.  Leadership Arkansas’s vision is to work to build a strong and vibrant state by training skilled community leaders to recognize and capitalize on opportunities, motivate others to act to strengthen regions and communities, serve as ambassador for the potential and growth of the state, and promote the election and appointment of officials who understand the diverse aspects leading to growth of Arkansas.

Leadership Arkansas comprises a nine-month class program consisting of nine multi-day sessions held in different locations throughout the state. The sessions feature Arkansas leaders who represent a wide geographic base and who have diverse backgrounds and vocations.  The members are given broad exposure to the many social, political, geographic and environmental complexities of the state; on-site demonstrations and tours; unique cultural experiences; insight into the people, places and history that influence public policies; and fun and casual settings which foster new relationships and camaraderie.

Leadership Arkansas has educated and engaged over 500 alumni since its inception in 2005 and represent nearly every Arkansas county.



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here