LITTLE ROCK — The Arkansas Department of Education is pleased to announce that a total of $6,999,529 will be awarded to 175 schools that qualify for funds through the Arkansas School Recognition Program. Awards are based on information from the 2016-2017 school year.

The Arkansas School Recognition Program (see Ark. Code Ann. § 6-15-2107) provides financial awards to the top 10 percent of public schools that achieve high student performance on the state required assessments in grades three through 10 and the top 10 percent of public schools that achieve high student academic growth, which includes high school graduation rates where applicable.

“The teachers and students who have earned this award for their schools have demonstrated the practical value of diligent study,” Gov. Asa Hutchinson said. “We all appreciate the pleasure of a ‘bonus’ for our hard work. But this is about more than extra cash for a school. Your devotion to teaching and learning now ensures a strong workforce and well-educated leadership for Arkansas tomorrow. Congratulations and thank you to the 175 schools who are leading the way.”

Schools receiving recognition funds must establish a committee to determine the best use of the funds. The committee includes the principal, a teacher elected by the faculty, and a parent representative selected by the local Parent Teacher Association or another parental involvement group. Schools must use the funds for faculty and staff bonuses, educational equipment and materials, or personnel to assist with improving or maintaining student performance.

Area schools eligible for the grants include:

Fort Smith – Woods Elementary School ($51,997.68)

Greenwood – Greenwood Junior High School ($54,966.24)


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here