March 12th, 2019

FORT SMITH — The Fort Smith Regional Chamber of Commerce held the third commencement ceremony for the Junior Leadership Academy (JLA) for the Class of 2019 on Thursday, March 7th at the UAFS Blue Lion. The Chamber developed the JLA program in 2016.  The goal of this academy is to facilitate local high school students in developing leadership skills while exposing these future leaders to career and service opportunities in our area. This program helps to prepare our area youth with value-added soft-skills, which will build a stronger workforce of the future in our region.

The Fort Smith Regional Chamber of Commerce is pleased to celebrate the 37 students who completed the JLA Program. Their names and respective schools are listed at the end of this release. In addition to celebrating the completion of the program, the students also presented their group projects at the event. The team presentations ranged from projects covering community outreach, quality of place, and development of the Fort Smith Riverfront.  The Fort Smith Regional Chamber of Commerce and its members are proud to support the JLA program. The students came up with great ideas to improve our community and we are proud of their efforts and enthusiasm. 

Interviews of students for the JLA Class of 2020 are currently underway.  For more information about the Junior Leadership Academy or how you can sponsor a student, you may contact Susan Krafft at For additional details, and sponsorship opportunities please go to

Junior Leadership Academy Class of 2019

Matthew Alt                         Southside
Jacob Biddle                            Northside
Heather Boone                        Northside
Jazzlyn Coleman                     Northside
Gabriella Collins                     Southside
Kevin Douglas                         Greenwood
Sadie Eddins                            Northside
Sawyer Eddins                        Northside
Miles Epperson                       Southside
Dacie Gamble                         Greenwood
Seth Geoates                            Southside
Will Green                               Southside
Angelina Ha                            Southside
Sadie Hanesworth                 Southside
Matthew Hollenbeck             Northside
Garrett   Locknar                   Northside
Sarah Long                              Southside
Nadia Lougin                          Northside
Ethan Martinez                      Northside
Lexie Mosby                           Northside
Molly      Odell                       Greenwood
Ramsey Pate                          Greenwood
Gabriel Pendleton                Northside
Camryn Presley                    Greenwood
Jordyn Releford                    Northside
Madison Settlage                  Southside
Torri Sherman                      Hackett
Charis Shure                        Union Christian
Lilly Smith                            Southside
Grace Spradlin                      Southside
William  Thames                  Northside
Akia Thomas                         Future School
TaDasia Thomas                   Northside
Stetson Van Matre                Northside
Chaprelle Wanton                Northside
Zane Watson                         Northside
Nour Yasin                             Northside


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here